The Kenowa Hills Band Program is under the direction of Frank Hillyard and Christopher Bookie.  Band begins in 6th grade and progresses through high school.  Students are involved in multiple performances throughout the school year with a very diverse course of options including Concert Band (6th-12th Grade), Marching Band (9th-12th Grade), Jazz Band (9th-12th Grade), Percussion Ensembles (6th-12th Grade), Musical Pit-Orchestra (9th-12th Grade) and Solo and Ensembles (7th-12th Grade).  Through these activities our program focuses not only on musical skills, but the enhancement of life skills through the teaching of music and activities within and outside of school.
2018 – 2019
Kenowa Hills High School Band
Fall Performance Schedule
 
Fri. July 27 – Band Orientation (at the HS)
    Freshman/New Students 9am – 12:00pm
    All Band Students 1:00pm –4:00pm
Mon. July 30 – Aug. 3 – Band Camp @ Kenowa Hills High School
Fri.  Aug. 3 – Band Trip to DCI 5pm-11pm
Tue.  Aug. 7 – Rehearsal  6-9pm
Thur. Aug. 9 – Rehearsal  6-9pm
Tue.  Aug. 14 – Rehearsal  6-9pm
Thur. Aug. 16  – Rehearsal 6-9pm
Tue.  Aug. 21 – Rehearsal  6-9pm
Thur. Aug. 23 – Rehearsal  6-9pm
Mon. August 27, 6pm – 9pm
    First Monday Night Rehearsal (these continue until 10/15/18)
Tue. Sept. 4, 6pm – 9pm
    Full Band Evening Rehearsal (No Monday Sept 3. Rehearsal)
Fri. Sept. 14 – Football Game vs. Muskegon
Sat. Sept. 22 – Grand Haven Competition
Fri. Sept. 28 – Football Game vs. Fruitport
Sat. Sept. 29 – KNIGHT TIME CLASSIC
Tue. Oct. 2, 6pm – 9pm
    Full Band Evening Rehearsal (No Monday Oct. 1 Rehearsal)
Fri. Oct. 5 – Football Game vs. Forest Hills (Homecoming)
Sat. Oct. 6 –  Cedar Springs Competition
Tue. Oct. 9  – MSBOA Marching Band Festival
Fri. Oct. 12 – Football Game vs. Reeths-Puffer
    (MS Band Performance)(Senior Recognition)
Sat. Oct. 13 – Allendale Competition/Lakeshore Competition
Sat. Oct. 20 – Jenison Competition/East Kentwood Competition
Mon. Nov. 12 – Grand Rapids Veterans Day Parade (Evening)
Sat. Nov. 17 – Grand Rapids Jaycees Santa Claus Parade
Mon. Nov. 19 –7:30pm P.A.C – Marching Knights In Concert
Tue. Nov. 20 – All Day – Performance for Feeders
Thur. Dec. 13, 7:30pm – Holiday Concert
    (Concert Band, Orchestra, Jazz Band, Percussion Ensemble)

Spring Performance Schedule

Sat. Jan. 26, 2019 All Day HS Solo and Ensemble
    (Individual student performances)
Thur. Mar. 14, 2019  D10 Jazz Festival
Wed. Apr. 18, 2019  (Morning) – MS/HS Band Clinic (Tentative)
Thur. May 2, 2019  7:30pm – Spring Concert
    (Concert Band, Jazz Band, Percussion Ensemble)
Wed. May 15, 2019  8:00pm – Jazz Band / Percussion Ensemble Concert
Thur. May 16, 2019  6:30pm (Setup/Dinner)/7:15pm (Awards)
    Instrumental Awards Banquet
Mon. May 27, 2019 – Memorial Day Parades (Marne & Standale)
Wed. May 29, 2019 – High School Graduation
2018 – 2019
Kenowa Hills Middle School Band
Fall Performance Schedule
 
Tues. Oct. 23, 7:00pm – 6th Grade Band Concert / Informance

Fri. Oct. 12, 6:00pm – 10:00pm – 7
th/8th Grade Football Game Performance (The students participate the entire duration of the football game. Rain or Shine)

Tue. Dec. 11, 7:00pm – 6
th/7th/8th Combined Holiday Concert
 
Spring Performance Schedule
 
Sat. April. 20, 2019 All Day MS Solo and Ensemble (Individual Voluntary Performance)

Thur. April 25, 2019, 7:00pm – 6
th/7th/8th Spring Concert

Mon. May 27, 2019 – 7th/8th Memorial Day Parades (Marne & Standale)
The Memorial Day Parades in Marne and Standale are “official” performances for the 7th and 8th grade bands.  If you are unable to attend the parades due to a conflict, you must communicate this with either Mr. Hillyard or Mr. Bookie in advance.  Any communication after the performance will still result in an unexcused absence.
 
*All performances are mandatory and the student’s grade is affected positively or negatively by attendance.
 
Close Menu